Intro to Peruvian Shamanism

August 28, 2010 at 9:27 pm Leave a comment

Went to an Intro to Peruvian Shamanism class today and wanted to share some of the things that stuck out to me:

  • Flower water can be used to cleanse in the same way sage is. Put some on your hands, rub them together, clap 3 times, bring your hands to your face and breathe in deeply, and finally rub the remaining water over your head and down your body.
  • 3 Worlds or realms of existence are the middle (everyday life/realm of discovery), upper (celestial real with ancestors, angels and star relatives) and lower (realm of totem animals and fairies/our interior world).
  • Altars act as transistors for elemental energy.
  • To release heavy energy, place the left hand on the affected body area and the right hand on the Earth. Let the energy flow from your left hand through your heart into your right hand and release it into the Earth.

We did a shamanic meditation in which I first followed fox through the woods, then wolf through the tundra where rainbow lights flickered in the sky into the lower realm. There I ran about, swam, and flew around enjoying myself and taking in all the magical entities. Then I came to a pool in a forest, fed by a waterfall where a boa waited for me. I followed him through the water into an underground cave where the ceiling was covered in constellation-like paintings that glowed dimly.

The snake told me this was my dream cave where I used to spend much time as a child, but lately haven’t been spending any time on my dreams. He said I need to take time out to fantasize about amazing larger-than-life things so that they can be brought into my life. He told me to start imagining things I wanted to do and I started off small but got more and more audacious with my dreams. As I did this, the paintings began to glow brighter and brighter.

Then the snake told me that when I meditate in the mornings I always go to the upper realm, but I need to start visiting the lower realm as well, to integrate my totems more into my life experience. He told me to ask Krishna how to travel from the upper to the lower realm and then to come daily for teachings from the animals and fairies.

I’m so excited at how everything I learn builds and builds and builds into new ways of seeing myself and my practice. And I’m excited to have new tools to use in cleansing and meditation! How wonderful to be blessed and loved by the Universe.

Entry filed under: dreams, energy, krishna, ritual, totem, universe, vision. Tags: , , , .

My Morning Prayer Moon/Light

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers


