Spirituality and Roses

March 26, 2009 at 2:50 pm 2 comments

When I was growing up, I lived most of my life in a house where two rose bushes thrived despite how we ignored or over-trimmed them. They seemed invincible and were a constant source of beauty in a yard that would go otherwise completely yellow during the heat of much of the year. I admired their hardiness and constant beauty and the amazing smell that just poured off of them – unlike any other roses I’ve met in my life. I read about rose water and loved the idea, but all my attempts to make some (okay, my one attempt) didn’t work and I forgot about it. But roses still felt magical to me.

***

Much, much later, my uncle told me a story about when he was a teen and had developed a spiritual & vaguely romantic relationship with a much older woman who had a special type of rose oil. It had been made in India back when the Raj was producing these as gifts for the foreigners who visited and contained the pressed oil of one thousand roses. She pressed a small drop to his third eye and it began to vibrate and for a while he saw everything he looked at as if it was covered in gold leaf.

***

Recently, I was in a Wild Oats that had been turned into a Whole Foods and so was carrying new products. One of these was rose water. I was giddy about finding it and snatched up the biggest bottle they had (although next time I may opt for a smaller bottle made with ionized water instead) and have been using it once or twice a day ever since. I mist it over myself and smell the beautiful, gentle hint of roses that smells like home to me. It reminds me to breathe deeply and to  center myself and that I am, as my boyfriend’s mother said the other day, “a beautiful flower.”

I’m trying to imagine myself as a rose: showing my beauty and splendor to whomever passes, regardless of who they are or what they say to me.

The image at the top is one of my recent drawings. Click here to view more.

Entry filed under: love, reality, spiritual. Tags: , .

Falling Into Place Up in the Air

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  April 20, 2009 at 3:07 am

    This blog reminds me of working in summertime here, in Erie. The place that I work for has beautiful gardens that are taken care of very well each year. On my working weekdays, I go to pick up the mail for our grouphome, and I always walk the long way through the back garden area. I have to stop and smell the roses, because they are almost calling out my name. I believe these particular roses are called tea roses. They are the greatest smelling flowers to me, and one of the only flowers that I am not allergic to. Summer is on its way, so, for now, I get to go the short way to get the mail! I love you, babe!

    Jessica

    Reply
  • 2. Jessica  |  April 20, 2009 at 3:09 am

    P.S. Wonderful drawing!!! It makes me feel all fuzzy inside!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers


