DIY Anniversary Ritual

July 3, 2008 at 7:42 pm 2 comments

I checked Dancing Up the Moon: A Woman’s Guide to Creating Traditions that Bring Sacredness to Daily LIfe from the library last week for two reasons.  I’m generally interested in creating tiny sacred rituals for my home and life and more specifically, I wanted to create a ritual for me and my boyfriend’s one year anniversary (tomorrow).

With the info from the book about directions, colors and symbols (this kind of stuff is published elsewhere, but it’s a very nice concise write up) and with my experience of this relationship & some of my general other knowledge, this is the ritual I came up with:

The craptastic picture above is to help you understand what I’m talking about.  The sacred space will be shown by a red sheet I have.  The sections through which we will move (clockwise and/or Northward from the South) will be divided by an equidistant cross (symbol of equality, balance) made from salt.  The first section (top left) has a bowl of earth in it and we’re going to copulate over that (several reasons, but the most obvious being that we were screwing outside a lot last summer due to circumstances beyond our control).  The second section has a bowl of water we’ll ritually cleanse with (that’s earth and water covered so far).  The third section we’ll feed each other chocolate to start the new year of ours with sweetness and a candle will be in that section.  The last section is where I’ll have my crystals that relate to the occasion and we’ll smoke a ceremonial pipe there (that’s fire and air now).

I feel like I could babble a lot about what these symbols mean to me and what they mean generally, but hopefully you get the idea.  I’m excited to see how this goes.  I’ve never tried anything like this in a relationship before, but I’ve never had a boyfriend who was such a part of my spiritual growth as he’s been.

Entry filed under: energy, love, reality, ritual, sexuality, spiritual. Tags: , , .

My Crystals Ritual Wrap-up

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ritual Wrap-up « Sitting In The South  |  July 7, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    […] 7, 2008 I was very happy with how our anniversary ritual went.  I set up everything while my baby was at work.  Besides what I said I’d do, I also […]

    Reply
  • 2. Birthday Ritual « Sitting In The South  |  September 11, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    […] 11, 2008 I’ve been mulling over what sort of ritual I should do to mark my birthday and this morning I received […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers


