My Animal Totems: Cats

May 29, 2008 at 3:22 pm 6 comments

I was rough with my crystals accidently and broke the quartz wand I had. When looking for some place to put it, I ran across a crystal carved in the shape of a cat that I’ve had since I was about 12. I replaced the crystal wand with the cat in my pouch because cats are the first totem animal I ever had and I feel that’s a good way to connect with the young, joyful aspects of myself.

Cats have been symbols of both the moon and the sun, individuality, fertility, purity of spirit, femininity, sexuality, magic and mystery.

As a kid, my pet cats and the trees in the woods behind our house were my best friends. I communed with them regularly and I’ve thought of myself as a cat-like being for as long as I can remember.

According to Sayahda.com, these are some of the attributes of a cat as totem: Cats have more rods in the retinas of their eyes which enable them to see effectively in the dark. The dark is often associated with mankind’s fears. Since the car is at home in the dark, it serves as a valuable ally into the world of the supernatural and the unknown and can help those with this totem move through their fears efficiently.

The energy field of a cat rotates is a counterclockwise direction, the opposite of a human energy field. Because of this, cats have the ability to absorb and neutralize energy that affects humans in a negative way. This is part of the healing medicine that the cat holds.

If something affects you in a negative way place a cat on your lap or find a cat to pet. Your energy field will immediately realign itself and inner balance will be restored.

Because of their x-ray vision, acute hearing and high intelligence they were used throughout history as guardians and protectors. In ancient Egypt cats guarded the temple gates and were used to ward off evil.

If cat appears in your life the blending of magic and mystery is at hand. A trustworthy teacher, the cat will guide you into the world of self discovery and transformation.

I also like cats because of their association with the goddesses Bast and Freya – whose legend about having two giant black cats pulling her chariot taps into the larger panther cat totem that lurks around the edges of my consciousness. Incidentally, the Egyptian and Norse pantheons are the ones I tend to like the most (besides the Asian pantheons of Buddhism and Hindu)

If you’d like to read more about my animal totems, check out my posts about dolphins, foxes, and then there’s this post that obliquely tells why ravens are another of my totem animals.

Entry filed under: sexuality, spiritual. Tags: , , .

He Healed Me with Love What’s Coming Next

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mahajanlovely  |  October 6, 2008 at 11:13 am

    ya8lu8u

    Reply
  • 2. Pang  |  April 22, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    Hi

    Reply
  • 3. Pang  |  April 22, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    How are you

    Reply
  • 4. pastelmoon  |  April 14, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    Very nice article. I live in Georgia so I’m a southern girl too. I also have a cat as my totem animal. I have loved cats since I was baby and still do. The first time I remember experiencing my cat totem was when I was a child and terribly afraid of the dark. I was too scared to even go to the bathroom at night until I started seeing a huge black cat that showed up every night when I went to bed. At first it scared me but then after a while I felt comforted at the fact that at least now I knew what was in the darkness. In a short time I was no longer afraid. Every time I had to get up at night I knew the cat was there to protect me. Since then I have dreamed about them, sensed my cat totem around me and I have several cat companions in the material world too. I love cats and always will.

    Reply
  • 5. I.M.S.T.  |  May 12, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Siempre he tenido cerca de mi a los gatos desde mi infancia, era algo especial lo que sentía con estos animales y lo sigo sintiendo, ellos siempre venían donde yo estaba, supongo que esto significa que el gato es mi tótem

    Reply
  • 6. How To Overcome Panic Attacks  |  June 20, 2013 at 9:51 am

    Hello, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine
    but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has
    some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, great blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers


