Mother’s Account of a Waterbirth

May 23, 2008 at 3:42 pm 2 comments

Since child birth and alternative birthing methods are something I discussed here before, I wanted to share with you this story about water birth I found via Mixx.com (a good resource for alternative health blogs and the like). Christencox had her second child in a large tub of water under the care of midwives and a doula.

As soon as I could, I got in the tub and while my contractions were still painful, I felt that they were infinately more manageable than when I labored in bed during my daughter’s labor and that I was also in more control of the birth of my son. As I entered the warm tub, I instantly felt relief from the contractions. I could still feel the tightening, but it wasn’t nearly as painful. My muscles were allowed to relax and soak in the warmth of the water, and I was able to work through the labor naturally, listening to the coaching of the midwife and my doula the whole time. It was amazing how I was able to really focus internally and breathe through the contractions without thinking about how much pain I was in! Instead, I was thinking about how I could actually feel my son descending through the birth canal, and I knew that we were making progress towards his birth.

After laboring for just under 2 hours from the time my water broke, I welcomed my little water baby into the world. Having waited for 3 years to have the waterbirth I always wanted, it lived up to every expectation I had! All of the testimonials that I read were right. It truly does help you focus on the labor from within, and made the whole labor so much less painful. Not to mention the benefit of having my son be born into a more gentle environment… from water to water. It was so peaceful, he didn’t cry the moment he was born, and I was able to give him the most gentle birth possible.

You can read all of her amazing store here. There are a lot more pictures, too. I highly recommend it!

Entry filed under: family, pregnancy, reality, vision. Tags: , , , , , .

Calming Crystals and Changes He Healed Me with Love

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christen Cox  |  May 24, 2008 at 12:00 am

    Thank you so much, May, for such an amazing compliment to my story by placing it on your website so highly recommended! I will forever advocate the benefits of alternative birth methods to anyone who will listen, and I applaud your efforts to support it! I look forward to reading more on your site and seeing other stories!

    Reply
  • 2. Homogenizer  |  June 21, 2008 at 3:50 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Homogenizer!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers


