Charmed Rebirth

March 19, 2008 at 3:24 pm 2 comments

 Rune stone from the 11th Century

A while ago I mentioned that learning runes was one of my goals.  I’ve taught myself a bit about them, although I haven’t gotten into it as deeply as I will after I’ve actually made my own runes.  But I learned enough that I was drawn to connect with a rune when I was mourning on Monday.  I looked up my list of runes that had drawn me powerfully to them during my initial runic explorations and this one just leaped off of the page:

I forged a new relationship with this rune (by itself and in the charm below) that day.  I’m sure you can infer why from this description of the rune’s meaning:

Beorc is the rune of the Great Mother and as such is the primary rune of fertility. It also conceals and protects and rules over all protective enclosures, such as houses or temple areas. It is very good to use in a runescript for the peace, projection and harmony of a household. It represents a very feminine and nurturing female type. Fertility. Protection. Family matters. To bring ideas to fruition.

Rebirth in the spirit. Strengthens the power of secrecy. Works of concealment and protection. To contain and hold other powers together. Realization of the oneness of the moment as the mother of all things.  (From Sunnyway.com)

I drew the charm on my arm that day and realized I wanted to add it to the tattoo of a raven I’ve been planning to get (follow the link to find out why).  It added another piece to the puzzle about myself I’ve been trying to unravel by showing me just how many times I have been reborn and the power I’ve gained from that, despite how awful the change might have been.

Plus, having the charm on my arm reminds me that all births are nurtured best in love and loving myself is important… something I need to be reminded of.

Entry filed under: family, goddess, spiritual. Tags: , .

Being Female Happy Spring!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tobeme  |  March 20, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    I love your thoughts on this. I can understand why this is such an important ruin for you.

    Reply
  • 2. Starweaver  |  March 20, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    Nice post!

    I think of this rune every time I walk in the aspen woods here (aspen and birch are closely related). An aspen wood is actually one huge single organism, connected through the roots. There’s the wonderful symbolism of new growth coming up from below ground, over and over again, through the seasons and centuries.

    Happy Ostara!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers


