Mind v. Body

December 8, 2007 at 5:45 pm 1 comment

This morning I finished reading a section on reclaiming personal power through childbirth in Christiane Northrop‘s Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom: Creating Physical and Emotional Health and Healing.  It was incredibly moving and I’ll post some of it next week.  But for now I want to talk about a realization it helped me have.

I read about a woman who had a home birth and after the child was born she was “stuck” in an ecstatic state because of how deeply in tuned with her body she was and because of how much she perfectly trusted it at that time and since.  Knowing that that is possible and attainable made me consider how I do or do not trust my body and I realized that I’ve felt my body has betrayed me.

When I started developing breasts I was 12 year old and at that point I’d been molested for 4 years.  I remember I was in my parents living room wearing my favorite t-shirt (a thin blue one with darker blue cats around the bottom) and my mom walked me over to the full-length mirror that used to be there and pointed at my puffy nipples.  She informed me that I’d have to start wearing a bra soon, then she let go and walked away.  I stared at myself, compeletely horrified that my body would go and do something so girly as to attract more male attention to myself.

Anyway.. it’s good to know that I feel that way.  I always thought I liked my body (except for that period when I was fat and I was in pain all the time because of it).  It’s amazing what you can hide from yourself without realizing.

Entry filed under: family, sexuality, spiritual. Tags: , , , , .

Journey to Englightenment Turning Labor into Personal Power

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amanda’s Story: A Home Birth « Sitting In The South  |  December 13, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    […] Amanda’s Story: A Home Birth From Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom: Creating Physical and Emotional Health and Healing by Christiane Northrup, M.D., Chapter 12: ‘Pregnancy and Birthing,’ this section is the one I referred to in my post last weekend. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers


