The Universe Says…

November 6, 2007 at 7:09 pm 8 comments

The Universe told me that I’m not allowed to stop writing poetry yesterday.  It’s a cute story and I’ll tell you in a minute, but first I want to tell one of my Uncle’s stories about the conscious nature of the Universe.  And, more specifically, the Universe’s willingness to answer an honest question, which is a big part of how I make certain decisions.

MY UNCLE’S STORY or THE UNIVERSE ANSWERS ‘YES’

My Uncle used to travel all over the country.  Part of what he was doing was searching for answers to his questions, and the question that he burned to know the answer to was this: Is the Universe Conscious?  And in a town he’d never been in before on the stairs of the train station, a little girl with blond hair walked up to him.  She handed him a folded piece of paper, saying that it was for him.  When he opened the note, it simply said “Yes.”  And that’s how my Uncle knew the Universe was Conscious.

I don’t have a cool story like that, but I do believe that the Consciousness of the Universe is important.  Partly just because it’s part of how I believe that everything will eventually turn out for good and partly because knowing that helps me to ask the Universe for answers when I can’t find them from anywhere else.   Which leads me to my poetry story:

HOW THE UNIVERSE TOLD ME TO WRITE MORE POETRY

Recently I’ve been writing more and more, but it’s all been blogging.  I like blogging a lot, but it’s not the same kind of satisfaction that comes from writing poetry for me.  However, I haven’t been inspired at all to write any for several months now, and any time that happens I start doubting if I should try and write any more ever or if I should just give up the idea of being a poet which seems sillier and sillier to me each year.  However, I always have a feeling in the back of my head that the Universe won’t let me quit so I always try to calm myself when this doubt springs up and wait for a sign.

I had been posting new poetry for a while on deviantArt and someone commented a while back that I was so good I should join some poetry contest or other.  I looked at the link they left and it was for poetry.com’s contest which I’d entered once before when I was a lot younger and a whole lot worse at writing.  So partially to see what I’d win now that I was freaking awesome at poetry, I entered.  And forgot all about it until yesterday.  I received a package in the mail from poetry.com informing me that I’d placed 3rd in the contest and awarding me a ceremonial coin or whatever.

In my interpretation, that’s the Universe saying that I’m not allowed to forget about my ability even if I want to.  I’m so puzzled because I really don’t feel that MY poetry is helpful in the world right now and what I’m doing at work and in my blog is actually somewhat urgent.  I am waiting for the day when my poetry can be useful and part of me still thinks that day will never come.  But, the part of me that is trusting trusts that everything happens for a reason… even my piddly poetry compositions.

Entry filed under: faith, spiritual, universe. Tags: , , .

“The dismembering of the world” The end of living and the beginning of survival

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dovelove  |  November 6, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    If your poetry brings you joy, then it’s healing the world 🙂 If everyone in the world did that which brought them a depth of real joy/love, our world would be aglow with joy/love and peace. Do that which brings you joy/love and endeavor to not worry/fear about the rest. That heals you and you/we are the world 🙂

    Peace,
    Dove

    Reply
  • 2. mayinthesouth  |  November 7, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    The problem is that writing poetry doesn’t always bring me joy. Often it is a cheerless process which is why I avoid it. Oh, well. Right now I don’t even have the urge to write about anything so I’m just waiting for that to hit me before I bother to attempt again.

    Reply
  • 3. dovelove  |  November 7, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    If you’re doing it for some reason other than joy, it’s pointless. And in those times, you’re forcing it. Forcing is not generally good, it’s about trying to control something or someone, and that’s about fear. I wanted to point out that your word “urgency” was rooted in fear. Our excessive and unwarranted fear weakens us, it doesn’t create a foundation of strength. Trust, “faith,” knowing that all will go well if we simply follow our hearts, our intuition, our own wisdom from within, knowing that whatever pace we feel confidently spurred toward, is the right pace, but at the same time detaching from any particular outcome. Again, trusting that all will happen as it should. If you feel swift action is the right thing to do, just make sure there’s no element of fear in that. I think it was Aristotle that said, “A wise man is never in a hurry.” Fear is inherent in “hurry.” There is nothing more disempowering (nor dangerous) than fear.

    Reply
  • 4. mayinthesouth  |  November 7, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    I used to write because it brought me joy but I have come to see that joy was a type that was purely selfish. The reason that I do not enjoy writing poetry is because I feel it is almost entirely without an audience. So even when I am happy about the amazing poem I wrote, I can’t stay happy because I feel like there was no reason for it.

    Urgency to me isn’t a fearful thing but something that gives purpose. I think Art should have a purpose and when I’m feeling like it doesn’t, it’s easy to give up. I can tell the Universe has a reason for me to have this skill, but until I see a good place to use it, I’m fine with not using it at all.

    Reply
  • 5. dovelove  |  November 7, 2007 at 11:03 pm

    It is so sad that you discount the extreme value of your presence, just your being (without doing anything), the extreme value of your own joy to the world and its healing…and even label it “selfish.” All joy is “selfish,” and that’s a good thing 🙂 If joy isn’t about the self, it isn’t really joy. And until you can freely and lovingly allow yourself to have real joy, you will be incapable of conveying that to others. You will be incapable of truly loving others. Self-love must always come first. We cannot give that which we do not already have.

    I wish you could trust that your joy/love is the best thing you have to offer others, the world. Heal the world, be “selfish” 🙂 Revel in the joy that is created in your heart when you do that which brings you joy, and that energy fires out into the Universe and it heals others. In loving yourself in that way, you spread that joy/love energy to others. I promise 🙂 Follow your joy, it will always take you in the right direction at the right time.

    If you don’t understand this, I won’t respond again. I’ll take it to mean that you are to learn though the misery you are creating for yourself with believing that your simple joy in creating is of no value.

    I wish you well on your journey.

    Peace,
    Dove

    Reply
  • 6. mayinthesouth  |  November 8, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    I am creating things and getting joy out of it. I am reveling in self-love. But, poetry is not something that has made me happy recently so I haven’t been doing it. I don’t see that this is something that makes me miserable. I am using my creative energies in news ways that are more fulfilling to me. I am very happy in my life and soul. I don’t feel that you have a reason to be accusing me of unhappiness when I don’t have a problem with this situation. I’m merely puzzled and amused by it wondering what the Universe must have in store for me. Someday I will need to write poetry again and then I’ll do it. Until then, I’m happy.

    Reply
  • 7. dovelove  |  November 8, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    I’m “accusing” you of nothing, hon. Well, maybe of being of “extreme value” and worthy of joy? 🙂 It would seem I misunderstood your previous posts given that you don’t have a problem with this situation. Re-read them and perhaps you will see why it seemed that you did indeed have a problem. If not, that’s wonderful 🙂 Peace.

    Reply
  • 8. mayinthesouth  |  November 12, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    Well, I guess I just don’t know any other word for “to charge with a fault.” You said several times that I am making myself miserable, so, to me, that is an accusation.

    It’s possible you may have misunderstood my previous posts, but to me, they had nothing to do with this one. I didn’t expect anyone to read it as anything but a different subject.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers


