My Animal Totems: Part 2, The Dolphin

September 13, 2007 at 8:39 pm 2 comments

If you’ll remember, I mentioned something a while ago about an animal totem series. Today I offer you another installment.

Dolphin: psychic abilities, initiators, sound

There are many ways that an animal totem can show up in our lives. One of the most prevalent animal totems in my life has been the dolphin. I’d like to give you a brief overview of the significant impacts on my psyche that dolphins have had in one way or another in an attempt to demonstrate the mundane and miraculous ways of totems.

The Dolphin Enters My Reality

When I was around 10 years old or so I was at a local amusement park that had a dolphin show, which used to be much more common than it is now. My sisters and I were fighting over where to sit and I chose a place that was painted blue on the front row. An employee came up to me and said that I was in the place where they chose volunteers from the audience to pet the dolphins. I was estatic and when the time came, I didn’t even notice the many spectators watching me (I was REALLY shy) as I got to pet the dolphin for several minutes. That moment seemed like a miracle to me because I didn’t feel like special things happened to me. This experience changed my mind about that a little and introduced me to my love of dolphins.

Much later I learned about the self-awareness mirror test given to dolphins. This only further convinced me of their intelligence and fabulousness. I am certain that all dolphins in captivity are doing research on us.

 

The Dolphin Enters My Fiction

I read the whole Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series by Douglas Adams when I was in high school (or around then). If you’re unfamiliar with the books, all you need to know for our purposes is that the intelligence, power and alien status of dolphins is a theme running through the books. Adams shows dolphins as being smart enough to take advantage of the Earth’s good qualities without getting bogged down in its problem areas. This is a quality I’d love to emulate, and the sassiness of the dolphins just makes me happy.

When I was almost 21, I read a science fiction story about a dolphin who can communicate with people through some machine they’ve built. He subsequently falls in love with the woman in charge of his research and tries to have sex with her. Weird story, yes, but it makes dolphins that much more infused with meaning and connections for me because I have a freaky-deaky sex drive too.

 

 

Bonding Moment 

I claimed the dolphin as my own when I got my first tattoo. It’s a dolphin with the kanji for ‘ocean’ under it. This image sequence represents to me intelligence in chaos, the creative writing process, and the conscious interacting with the collective unconscious. My dolphin totem came to me as it would, shaping and changing aspects of me, but I also give meaning to it and we are growing together.

Entry filed under: dolphin, reality, spiritual, totem.

Message from a Hopi Elder Happy Birthday from Tarot.com

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. My Animal Totems: Cats « Sitting In The South  |  June 2, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    […] you’d like to read more about my animal totems, check out my posts about dolphins, foxes, and then there’s this post that obliquely tells why ravens are another of my totem […]

    Reply
  • 2. My Comfort and Shield « Sitting In The South  |  September 5, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    […] tattoo on the left is the one I got at 19. It is made up of two symbols representing a dolphin (one of my totems) and the ocean.  This represents my creative drive and the creative process in general: the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers


