My Animal Totems: Part 1, The Fox

August 27, 2007 at 5:30 pm 5 comments

According to In The Shadow of the Shaman, a totem is a sacred animal or object with a unique vibration and energy.  This energy can be used to compliment those aspects of one’s Self related to the totem symbol.  Totems are something I’ve been interested in for quite a while, but it wasn’t until I went to UW and took a class about Native Northwest Coast Art that I felt like I understood the relationship that a person or people can have with a totem.  In the class I learned that it was interacting with an animal in some way that passed power from that animal to a person that created a totemic relationship.  I think that my way of saying it is that these animals have passed inspiration to me and the freedom to accept even the wildest parts of myself.

In this and the next several blogs, I will be examining those animals I’ve claimed as my totems, starting with the most recent: the Fox.

Elusiveness, agility and cleverness are some of the traits associated with this animal.

The fox totem is a recent acquisition of mine.  A couple of weeks ago in the midst of a great deal of personal turmoil, I was sitting in the woods behind my childhood house with a friend.  We’d fallen silent and I was looking over to where a creek cutting through the woods is bridged by a small fallen tree.  As I was looking a fox appeared out of nowhere, crossed the tree and wandered out of sight in the woods.  Seeing the fox move without disturbing anything in its path was a moment of insight for me, and I purposed to try to walk through life without causing a negative disturbance and/or avoiding turbulent problems.  Since I’ve meditated on the subjet more, I’ve found more and more links that the fox already had in my life that I hadn’t acknowledged before.  It was wonderful to connect with something new and old at the same time.

Amber Wolfe‘s Shamanic Bonding Exercise for totems is wonderful, or, if you’re not sure of your totem(s), here’s an exercise to help you.

 

If you liked this, you may want to sign up to be automatically updated the next time I post new content.

Entry filed under: fox, spiritual, totem.

The Moon and I The Crystal

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. My Animal Totems: Part 2, The Dolphin « Sitting In The South  |  September 13, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    […] The DolphinMessage from a Hopi ElderLove with ConciousnessA Baby’s SoulDreaming RealityThe CrystalMy Animal Totems: Part 1, The FoxThe Moon and IA Brief History of My Spiritual LifePull Up a […]

    Reply
  • 2. Bill  |  March 20, 2009 at 6:48 am

    I believe that the Fox is the first animal I am adding to my totem. This is interesting stuff. I’ve always been somewhat spiritual and read a lot about what a lot of people call “new age” things and people’s connection with animals was something I knew about but never looked into.

    But tonight as I was driving home from work an orange fox crossed about a hundred yards in front of my car. It didn’t surprise me or anything. It should have since it came out of nowhere, foxes aren’t animals that are regularly seen near me, and I could have hit it.

    It was in that moment that I thought the fox crossed my path for a reason and now I’m determined to understand it. Thanks for the post. Its helping my understanding get off the ground.

    Reply
  • 3. Alex  |  April 22, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    i really understand you. hen I discover my totem animal I felt a great connection with that animal, though it’s not a fox, it’s a timber wolf, i felt a gat connection wih that animal. I didn’t even remember the wolves as my favorite ones before!!

    Reply
  • 4. Joy wilder  |  May 12, 2009 at 12:29 am

    In my daily rural travels, I have encountered 3 different fox. One walked up behind me within 5ft and as I shewed it away, it just stood there for 10 mins. I was too fightend to move. Another was standing on a path as I turned onto my raod, I stopped my car and we just looked at each other, these encounters have been going on for a year now, My question is Is this good or bad. My quest has always to be more aware, and as enlightened as I can be. I am a bit concered at these encounters, but also excited.

    Reply
  • 5. May  |  May 12, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Joy, I would never take an encounter with nature as a bad thing (unless it was some sort of attack!). I would try meditating on the event and the emotions it brought up in you and seeing if you can ask yourself questions about the experience that will show you a message.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers


