Love Finds You Even When You’ve Given It Up

November 20, 2008 at 6:11 pm 4 comments

Say what you will,
Love finds you even when,
You’ve given it up

One after another
You’ve seen love affairs turn
From the glorious start
To the crash and burn
But Now that you’ve promised never again
It’s exactly when you’ll fall in

-The Submarines, “Submarine Symphonica”

I posted before about my lovelife and how I decided to give up on having a relationship with a woman.  In my heart I knew it wouldn’t be forever, but I knew it was a decision I had to make so I wouldn’t be throwing away my energy after looking for someone when I shouldn’t be.

I’m happy to announce that the Universe indeed had plans for me where that is concerned.  I recently went to visit the only woman I ever felt truly intimate and comfortable with.  She lives several states away and we hadn’t seen each other for 3 years.

Coming together with her again was incredible.  We connected even more deeply that we had before and it was so comforting to me to be around another woman and feel as deeply relaxed as I want to, but normally don’t.  Our intimacy and obvious mutual adoration is also fuel for my fire and it made a significant difference in my energy and power level.

Since then, we’ve been talking daily on the phone, sometimes two or three times.  It overjoys me to have a female precense in my life that I can be that involved with without them finding it stifling.  I have always wanted to be intimate with a woman who was willing to be involved in all aspects of my life, finding even the boring things interesting because of how they affect me, listening to stuff I wouldn’t feel comfortable telling anyone else.

The natural progression of our feelings and desires have led us to being each other’s girlfriends, with the overwhelming and enthusiastic support of both of our signficant others.  It is an amazing connection that I thought I had lost and to have it suddenly back as a force for wonder and love in my life is almost overwhelming.  I am so grateful to have this beautiful woman in my life, even from far away.

Entry filed under: love, reality, sexuality, vision. Tags: , , , .

Symbolism Harmonizing with Electronics

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  November 20, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    I love having you in my life, as well. I would write something about my feelings except you have summed it up with everything that you wrote above.

    I adore you and feel the exact same feelings. I think that’s why it works, you and I, we are so much alike that it just clicks.

    About our significant others, we have evolved in love to have realized the need for supportive men in our lives, so they think we are fabulous, love our relationship, and help it to flourish. You are an amazing woman, May. I love you.

    Jessica

    Reply
  • 2. Grégoire  |  November 20, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    First of all, let me compliment you on the most fascinating blog I’ve seen in a very long time. It’s rare to meet another fan of Jung’s ideas. Your artwork is very good. I hope you don’t mind if I link to your page for future reference.

    Congratulations also on the new relationship.

    I was born and raised a very religious Mormon (practicing atheist for most of my adult life). I was surprised to find myself fascinated and initially repulsed, but not for the reasons you imagine.

    My cousins (they lived in Mexico during my childhood, but we did visit them) were involved in polygamy. I suppose the sight of them interacting did as much to shape my own attitudes as anything else. The language of their relationships was one of domination, and in my humble opinion, quite unhealthy and undemocratic. Ours (mainstream Mormons) were also, but our oppression was a bit more subtle.

    I will remain incredibly curious as to how your girlfriend, and both the significant others find a balance which works for all of you. I hope that you’ll feel comfortable posting updates, but will understand if you don’t.

    As an afterthought, it’s something of a bitter irony that my people — the originators of non-traditional relationships — are now meddling in national politics and passing their insolent judgment on others in an attempt to punish those who choose a life outside their narrow view of normality. I’m descended from guerrilla fighters who were ready to die and go to prison before they went willingly into monogamy. How the tables have turned. I’m sure there’s an article in the juxtaposition someplace.

    Best…

    Reply
  • 3. Eric  |  November 20, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    I’m so happy for you both.

    Reply
  • 4. tobeme  |  November 20, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    You are very blessed to have this soul in your life!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

