Encountering Angels

September 17, 2008 at 6:05 pm 6 comments

I never really “believed” or even bothered considering angels most of my life.  Though I was raised Baptist, angels seemed even more mystical and less real than the god who was ignoring me so I gave them no thought.  Since then, I’ve been -I’m sad to admit it- fairly knee-jerky when anything about Christianity or the Bible suddenly jumped out at me.  Only recently have I lost this, which is a good thing because I wouldn’t have be able to read Simplified Magic: A Beginner’s Guide to The New Age Qabala if I was still all prickly like that, and I’m so glad that I am!

Though this book is about the Qabala, it goes much more into detail about the angels, god name and other information associated with the idea of the Tree of Life – something I’ve been in loved with ever since I heard about it.  I learned about it via studying old alchemical illuminated texts so coming to it from a perspective that is much more heavily using the judeo-christian language is a bit odd for me.

Simplified Magic talks about the Qabala as a means of accessing energy levels/centers in ourselves and the Universe.  The tree of life is composed of 10 energetic levels, each of which is associated with a color, a god name, an angel and emotional/mental/spiritual qualities.  These are presented in the book by a series of Tree of Life drawings with the different god names and angel names listed on them.  The author encourages accessing the levels of power by asking the associated angel to work with you and though I was extremely hesitant, when I looked at the drawing with the angel names listed I was immediately struck by the name Michael and felt a strong rush of energy connecting me with it.

So despite trepidation, I knew this was something I should do.  I called out to Michael by name and was instantly met with an image of a tall, beautiful masculine figure with golden curls and eyes like two pillars of flame.  I’ve been talking with him since then and realized that he is a part of myself that was always in me (part of my spirit warrior self) that I wasn’t able to acknowledge until now – because it means acknowledging that I need someone’s help which has always been hard for me.  When I first called to him, I felt an immediate change in my energy field.  It became denser and more solid and very strong.  Since then, the interaction hasn’t been so dramatic, but I definitely still feel calmer and stronger when I call to him.

Here’s what Simplified Magic has to say about Michael:

The Archangel that we meet at this level of consciousness is Michael.  He is the Prince of Splendor and Wisdom and the Great Protector.  Legend has it that the Cherubim were formed from the tears Michael shed over the sins of the faithful.  He is the spirit of the planet Mercury and he brings to us the gift of patience.  It is very appropriate that he operate in this sphere.  Many times, striving for greater and high knowledge can put us in psychic danger, and at those times it is good to have him at our side. …

In this level we awaken the virtue of truth.  If there is falsehood in others or deception, or if there is falsehood or deception in ourselves, it can be revealed through contact with this level of consciousness.  We find that the knowledge opens up greater manifestation of that knowledge in our lives – whether through greater health or learning or prosperity.

Next I read about the angel Haniel:

Haniel is…the Archangel of Love and Harmony and is considered the patron of the arts.  Those working in creative fields could do no better than to ask her assistance.  Under Haniel work the Elohim whose name translates into gods/goddesses.  They are the actual energies which caused man to translate them as the varios dieties that make up mythology and religions.  They are, in fact, protectors of religion, and they watch over the leaders of people and help inspire right decisions.

While I didn’t have a sudden burst of intiution while looking at Haniel’s name, I felt strongly pulled to her after reading about her and the level of energy she represents.  I asked her to come, less scared than before but a little considerned because my encounter with Michael was so overwhelming at first, and she appeared to me very gently.  She seemed to be Michael’s twin, tall, golden and curly haired, but her eyes were gentle and I felt as though she touched my heart and stroked my hair.  I realized her energy flow was much more subtle and compassionate than Michael’s and I welcomed her, asking her to help me love.

There is no doubt in my mind that calling on these two angels brought about the remarkable events of yesterday.  My little sister I hadn’t spoken with in over a year and I became reconciled and I spoke honestly and thoroughly through my relationship with my older sister, which hadn’t happened for a VERY long time.  Our relationships are now at a completely different level, much closer to any sort of intimacy than we’ve had for such a long time.  I feel very blessed to have reconnected this way, even if family stuff always does leave me feeling weary and weepy.  In many ways, I feel like I’ve lost as much as I gained in those conversations but I have to sit back knowing I’ve done what I can and being grateful that we’ve even gotten this far.  And, of course, I’m grateful to my newly-found angels for helping me through.  I can see them in my mind’s eye leading me with either hand as if I were a child lost in the woods, which has been keeping me humble and comforted.

Entry filed under: family, love, reality, spiritual, vision. Tags: , , , , , , .

Birthday Ritual Wrap-Up Giving Thanks

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ronnifairy  |  September 17, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Family stuff is so hard!

    I love Archangel Michael. I feel his energy and see colors more than see him. He sounds beautiful. :)

    Reply
  • 2. Vision Quest « Sitting In The South  |  October 23, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    [...] noticed since that I am much more confident and powerful.  My angels have become part of my higher self now and I can see my spirit towering over my body with big [...]

    Reply
  • 3. daetzki  |  October 29, 2008 at 2:45 am

    to tell you the truth, i wanna know if angels do really exist. but after reading your article,i think they do exist. but i don’t know how to find them. i also know that ‘ghost’ do exist cause i can feel them and locate them in a different manner that i don’t really see their figure.

    Reply
  • 4. May  |  October 30, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    daetzki – more and more I’m finding out that if you ask with sincerity, the Universe will be willing to show you what you want to see and experience. Perhaps meditating on angels might be a way to connect with that energy. Hopefully you will find what works for you! Thanks for stopping by

    Reply
  • 5. Angel Wings & Self-Acceptance « Sitting In The South  |  February 13, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    [...] spiritual updates describing how many of us are becoming Earth Angels, and I have felt a kind of merged resonance with angels where I saw their wings expressed in my aura, but I had never seen real honest-to-goodness huge [...]

    Reply
  • 6. online stock trading guru  |  January 11, 2010 at 2:03 am

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking your feeds too now, Thanks.

    I’m Out! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

